header

Research Group Medical Genetics

The Medical Genetics working group, led by Dr. Jan Lukas, focuses on the development of innovative, cellular disease models with the aim of improving molecular diagnostic and prognostic methods and testing personalized, molecular therapeutic treatment approaches for patients with rare metabolic diseases.

The total number of these diseases is estimated at over 5000 and the number of different gene variants of the often polymorphic genes is steadily increasing. Not all gene variants are pathophysiologically significant. The elucidation of the connections between allelic changes and clinical disease patterns (also referred to as genotype-phenotype correlation) is one of the most important and also challenging questions of today's human genetics. Modern molecular diagnostics can be supported by expanding the basis of interpretation by using cellular disease models and IT-supported modelling.

In our laboratory we deal with the underlying molecular mechanisms of synthesis, processing and transport of defective protein variants leading to the pathophysiology of rare monogenic metabolic diseases.

A relatively new therapeutic approach describes the stabilization of misfolded but otherwise functional protein variants by influencing cellular proteostasis so that these proteins can escape premature ER-associated proteasomal degradation (ERAD) and process to the target site. The greatest therapeutic potential lies in a class of special low-molecular substances: the pharmacological chaperones. These chaperones bind directly to certain structural elements of the nascent protein and form a scaffold to allow the orderly folding of specific target proteins, thus avoiding the ERAD-mediated degradation of enzymatically active proteins.

Current projects deal with the copper accumulation disorder Wilson's disease ("Excellence-MV") and the lysosomal storage diseases Fabry's disease, Niemann-Pick's disease type C and Gaucher's disease.


Wilson's disease

Fabry's disease

Research Group Medical Genetics

Dr. Jan Lukas (Group Leader)
Dr. Supansa Pantoom (PostDoc)
Susanne Seemann (PhD Student)
Christina Hund (PhD Student)
Janine Petters (PhD Student)
Katharina Iwanov (PhD Student)
Felix Ostwaldt (MSc Student)

header

Arbeitsgruppe Medizinische Genetik

Die AG Medizinische Genetik (Leiter: Dr. Jan Lukas) befasst sich im Schwerpunkt mit der Entwicklung innovativer, zellulärer Krankheitsmodelle mit dem Ziel der Verbesserung molekularer diagnostischer und prognostischer Verfahren und Testung personalisierter, molekular-therapeutischer Behandlungsansätze bei Patienten mit seltenen Stoffwechselkrankheiten.

Die Gesamtzahl dieser Erkrankungen liegt bei geschätzt über 5000 und die Anzahl verschiedener Genvarianten der oft polymorphen Gene steigt stetig. Nicht alle Genvarianten sind pathophysiologisch bedeutsam. Die Aufklärung von Zusammenhängen allelischer Veränderungen und klinischen Krankheitsbildern (im engeren Sinne auch Genotyp-Phänotyp-Beziehung genannt) gehört zu den Kernfragen der heutigen Humangenetik. Die Erweiterung der Interpretationsgrundlage durch Zuhilfenahme zellulärer Krankheitsmodelle und IT-unterstützter Modellierung können die moderne molekulare Diagnostik unterstützen.

In unserem Labor beschäftigen wir uns mit den zugrunde liegenden molekularen Mechanismen der Synthese, Prozessierung und Transport schadhafter Proteinvarianten, die zur Auslösung der Pathophysiologie seltener monogener Stoffwechselkrankheiten führen.

Ein relativ neuer therapeutischer Ansatz beschreibt die Stabilisierung fehlgefalteter, ansonsten aber funktionaler Proteinvarianten durch Beeinflussung der zellulären Proteostase, sodass diese Proteine einem vorzeitigen ER-assoziierten proteasomalen Abbau (engl: endoplasmic reticulum-associated degradation = ERAD) entgehen und zum Zielort prozessieren können. Das größte therapeutische Potential kommt hierbei einer Klasse besonderer niedermolekularer Substanzen zu: den Pharmakologischen Chaperonen. Diese ermöglichen als eine Art Baugerüst über direkte Bindung an bestimmte Strukturelemente die ordentliche Faltung eines spezifischen Zielproteins und damit die Vermeidung des ERAD vermittelten Abbaus der enzymatisch ansonsten aktiven Eiweiße.

Aktuelle Projekte befassen sich mit der Kupferstoffwechselkrankheit Morbus Wilson "Exzellenz-MV") und den lysosomalen Speicherkrankheiten Morbus Fabry, Morbus Niemann-Pick Typ C und Morbus Gaucher.

Morbus Wilson

Morbus Fabry

AG Medizinische Genetik

Dr. Jan Lukas (AG-Leiter)
Dr. Supansa Pantoom (PostDoc)
Susanne Seemann (PhD Studentin)
Christina Hund (PhD Studentin)
Janine Petters (PhD Studentin)
Katharina Iwanov (PhD Studentin)
Felix Ostwaldt (MSc Student)