Dear visitors and patients,

Welcome to the homepage of the Section for Translational Neurodegeneration "Albrecht Kossel" of the Department of Neurology at the University Medical Center in Rostock.

The section consists of several research groups, which deal with basic scientific questions about the development and pathophysiology of neurodegenerative diseases (e.g. amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, Niemann-Pick type C, Wilson's disease), as well as with clinical questions and modern concept of patient centered care and the transfer of new findings from basic science into clinical practice (e.g. for improved diagnostics or the therapy of neurodegenerative diseases) and vice versa.

We combine long standing traditions of neuroscientific research at the Rostock University Medical Center by working on neurodegenerative diseases with up-to-date human stem cell-based cell systems. This mainly includes the use of patient-specific models and the development of individualized therapeutical strategies for neurodegenerative diseases.

Thank you for your interest in our work!

 

Yours sincerely,

Prof. Dr. Dr. Andreas Hermann, Section head

 

Support for refugee scientists

We are very concerned about the developments in the conflict between Russia and Ukraine. Our institute supports the project of the DFG to offer refugee scientists a new home. We are happy to host scientists and help them with the application process, e.g. within the framework of the Walter Benjamin Programme.

For details see: https://www.dfg.de/en/research_funding/proposal_review_decision/refugee_researchers/index.html

Open positions

  • Psychologist/Scientist (f/m/d)
Mehr Infos

header

Sehr geehrte Besucher und Patienten,

Institutsdirektor Prof. Dr. med. Arndt Rolfs

ich begrüße Sie herzlich auf der Homepage des Albrecht-Kossel-Instituts (AKos) der Universitätsmedizin Rostock.
Das Institut unter der Leitung von Prof. Dr. Arndt Rolfs ist aus dem Neurobiologischen Labor der Klinik für Neurologie der Universität Rostock hervorgegangen. Langjährige Erfahrungen auf dem Gebiet der seltenen angeborenen Stoffwechselerkrankungen wie z.B. Morbus Fabry und Morbus Gaucher machen das Institut zu einem weltweit anerkannten Diagnostik- und Therapiezentrum für seltene Erkrankungen.

Ein Beispiel für die exzellente und professionelle Zusammenarbeit mit internationalen Partnern aus den Bereichen Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Forschung ist die derzeit laufende weltweit größte und internationale Studie zum jugendlichen Schlaganfall (stroke in young Fabry patients, sifap). Die zu erwartenden Ergebnisse werden helfen, die Krankheit Morbus Fabry besser verstehen und therapieren zu können und den Betroffenen bessere Voraussetzungen im Umgang mit der Krankheit zu geben.

Die enge Kooperation mit nationalen und internationalen Universitäten im Rahmen von wissenschaftlichen Netzwerken spiegelt sich sowohl in der aktiven Mitwirkung im BMBF-geförderten LEUKONET (Deutsches Leukodystrophie Netzwerk) als auch in der durch die Europäische Kommission geförderten Etablierung der „Stem Cell Schools in Regenerative Medicine“ und dem durch die DFG geförderten Graduiertenkolleg dIEM oSiRiS wider.
Als eine der wenigen Einrichtungen in Deutschland erhielt das Albrecht-Kossel-Institut die Genehmigung, mit humanen embryonalen Stammzellen forschen zu dürfen. Das unterstreicht die ausgezeichnete Reputation, die das Labor als Forschungsstandort genießt.